APA Public Philosophy Op-Ed Winners

The APA Committee on Public Philosophy has picked its winners for the best Op-Ed pieces in 2017. They’re all really cool, check them out:

Katalin Balog (Rutgers University–Newark)
‘Son of Saul,’ Kierkegaard and the Holocaust
The Stone (The New York Times)

Andrew Fiala (California State University, Fresno)
Without Faith in Humanity, Cynicism Grows and Democracy Becomes Mob-Rule
The Fresno Bee Newspaper

David V. Johnson (Stanford University)
A Democracy Deficit Plagues the U.S. and the European Union

Ian Olasov (Graduate Center, CUNY)
How Did ‘All Lives Matter’ Come to Oppose ‘Black Lives Matter’? A Philosopher of Language Weighs In

Michael Robillard (University of Oxford) and Bradley Strawser (U.S. Naval Postgraduate School)
Are Soldiers Morally Exploited?
Ethical War Blog (Stockholm Centre for the Ethics of War and Peace)

The next nomination deadline for the award is April 15, 2018. The cash award is 100USD, plus bragging rights.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s